My Sonoma County Summer 2017

This is a follow-up post from Sonoma County Summer published May 15th 2017.

Buenos Dias!

It’s Leela here. Now that it’s mid July… have I enjoyed my Sonoma County Summer? Have I been to festivals? Walked along the beach? Met new people using public transportation or just melted in the summer heat? 

Well… things have been… interesting. Being 21 during summer has really influenced the types of activities and frequency of hanging out with friends. I went to some bars this summer, got approved for my first clubs and went beer tasting (still gross, i’ll never be a fan of liquid wheat). What’s funny is that most Brewing companies don’t expect young 20-something girls to go beer tasting. They also don’t expect us to be assertive about which one we like rather than just being giggly and taking whatever to get drunk. ┐(‘~`;)┌ 


-screenshot of Snapchat maps JULY 2017-

That day I also enjoyed a WHOLE afternoon & morning at the Russian River. It was amazing. Russian River runs through Guerneville (my favorite place ever) and Forestville. The residents are always bringing dogs, smoking weed and letting their children run naked in the streams. 


-Picture of friends at Russian River JULY 2017-

Going to my first club was really interesting. Bar hopping in Cotati, I did expect it to be a short night but I ended up staying out pretty late with my friends Ally and Emily. 🍹 I’m super thankful for going with people I trusted and we all got home safely (#thanksUber). There are limited bars for the Cotati Bar Crawl. Spanky’s, Tradewinds, and 2 more. People stay out till the bars kick them out. BTW guys still hit on you when the lights turn on… WHY?! 

-side note: i know this bar scene very well before I was 21 because I worked at a restraunt that would stay open till 3am on thursday nights. I got to know the college students who would attend #thirstythursdays REAL well-

After having a fun experience of dancing and drinking ALOT of water (so people didn’t pressure me into drinking THEIR drinks)…. I thought I was pretty well prepared for Downtown San Jose for my best friend’s 21st bar crawl extravaganza. 


-picture with added snapchat filter from JUNE 2017-

Let me start off by saying that I didn’t expect that “college towns” would have such an impact on the local bar scene. Maybe it was the night my friends and I went out but the streets were pretty thin. The crowds inside bars were like a TV scene of older men and little groups just hanging out. The bars weren’t too loud and I had a good time sorta dancing in the corner. 💃🏽

I didn’t just stop there at Sonoma County or San Jose… i had to know what it was like to go to the crazy fun bars in San Diego. Taking an Uber to and fro, my best friend/longest childhood friend and I (Courtney) took on Pacific Beach. We had planned to have a third but she was nowhere to be seen! :O We both sticked together and danced the night away and walked on the beach at midnight. What was crazy was that we ran into childhood friends from Courtney’s middle school and the night got even more fun! I have to say that the bigger the goup, the more fun when I go out. Also I would never bar hop on a first date, that would be embaressing (I still have a minor’s driver’s license) and rediculous. 


-Courtney chilling in a hammock at a friend’s house the day after JUNE 2017-

Now onto… FAIRS!


-picture of a carousel at Marin County Fair JULY 1 2017-

I planned to go to every fair in Sonoma County this summer… I forgot to think about money…. The Marin County Fair tickets were a $20 entrance fee. $20 for a student with no discount is high. Yes, the rides were free and lines were short but it took me some time to get over the initial shock of that much money I had planned to use for food. Also I spotted my weakness: FISH N CHIPS and it costed $17 😦 


In good spirit, the weather was amazing and the people were all very kind.  A much older crowd however, also a shocker for someone born in San Diego that attended the Del Mar Fair all the time. I’m not sure if I will be attending Sonoma County Fair afterall. It’s supposed to be way better than MCF but I’m just not sure SCF will be that special. I can’t wait to attend the CalState fair next week with my friend in Sacramento. I should probably save up money for that too… 

Now the BEACH!

What is summer without some sunshine and toes on the sand?? Well NOTHING if you’re like me and were born by the ocean. 


San Diego treated me well with sunshine and people but the weather when I went to the beach wasn’t the nicest and that was a bit of a bummer. Also I only went for the weekend so if I was there longer, I could have gotten my beach fill. Maybe I was disapointed because I had wanted to go to the beach SO BAD after going to Bodega Bay and being disapointed by Bay Area weather.

OVERALL:

I would rate my summer experiences 3/5 stars. ⭐️⭐️⭐️/ ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

There has been a lot of things going on between balancing 2 jobs and volunteer work with nursing homes. Luckily that money is supporting me going out and having fun although I have to plan plan PLAN constantly. 

-Lee & I at work at Campus Recreation for Summer Orientation SSU 2017-

-The B-day girl Gretchen and I ❤️ in San Jose- 


-Rosa and I enjoying some well needed R&R with sushi at Jadaiya Teriyaki last week- 

Lastly, make sure to take advantage of free foods! I went to 7/11 for free slurpees yesterday and also got a free veggie burger from Amy’s Drive Thru. 


Thank you for reading! 

Summer is the time to explore and learn more about yourself. Go on a few dates and ponder where your life is going. Have fun! Good luck and may there be endless fun in the sun! 

🌸🌸🌸🌸🌸🌸🌸🌸🌸🌼🌼🌼🌼🌼🌼🌺🌺🌺🌺🌺🌺🌺🌞🌞🌞🌞🌞🌞🌞🌞

Leave a Reply

