Things to Do | NYC PRIDE

Bonjour,

So I am one of those people who like to get involved in their community. I feel as if the best way to really get to know your neighbours/the neighbourhood is to get out there and do something! Although this is summer, I come from a family of hardworkers so ya’ll know they’re not about to let me laze around… 😭😆

I put up applications to volunteer at many places after all the summer jobs were taken and I didn’t hear back. #thestruggleisreal I went to 2 different orientations after persuading my family that I would be safe. I went to the GMHC* orientation and the Theatre Support orientation. I ended up volunteering for one big event called Music Beats Cancer in Manhattan (at a Windows store?).

*Now if you don’t know what GMHC stands for, i’ll tell you. It standa for Gay Mens Health Center. Now, if you’re not okay with ‘flaming homosexuals’ and ‘raging thong tans’ then you best say goodbye to this post now. This post is about PRIDE in NYC!

PRIDE WOOOOO. PRIDE. The annual celebration of all the misfits and their toys (literally) out to play on 5th avenue. The restraunts will be crowded and flooded with people who are either really confused (and just happened to visit NYC this weekend) or naked people. That’s right, lots and lots of naked people. It’s not about competition at all though because nearly everyone is supportive and loving whether they’re an ally to the LGBTQ+ community or one of those ‘flaming queers*’.

*If you haven’t noticed recently, Queer is a word that is being used to reclaim identities that were taken, stolen or erased. Huffington Post even has a “queer section”.

PRIDE PLAN: PRIDE with NYU
Sunday June 26th
Meet at Kimmel by 10:30AM
March at 11am

Here’s some of my pictures of the event.

I am so happy to have you here, thank you for being a part of my blogging journey.

-Leela Hamm, “The Blindian”

P.S. If you want IN-THE-NOW posts, add me on Snapchat @sanstomatoes

Leave a Reply

